Goldberg Variations: Ternary patterns for insomnia2018-11-05T19:28:56+00:00

Project Description

Goldberg Variations: Ternary patterns for insomnia


Goldberg Variations was originally composed for klavier by Bach in 1742 – and Goldberg Variations – ternary patterns for insomnia is based on Sitkovetsky’s world-famous transcription for strings.

When the variations were first published, programnotes included the following: Keyboard exercise, consisting of an ARIA with diverse variations for harpsichord with two manuals. Composed for connoisseurs, for the refreshment of their spirits, by Johann Sebastian Bach, composer for the royal court of Poland and the Electoral court of Saxony, Kapellmeister and Director of Choral Music in Leipzig. Nuremberg, Balthasar Schmid, publisher.

Music J.S. Bach – Goldberg Variations
(arr. Sitkovetsky)

Duration Approx 70 min.

Choreography Örjan Andersson
Musical direction Jonathan Morton
Set and light design SUTODA
Costume design Bente Rolandsdotter
Video Design Sam Salem

Jozsef Forro, Eve Ganneau, Paul Pui Wo Lee, Csongor Szabo, Danielle de Vries

Violin 1: Jonathan Morton, Cheryl Crockett, Daniel Pioro
Violin 2: Rakhvinder Singh, Joanne Green, Laura Ghiro
Viola: Jane Atkins, Andrew Berridge
Cello: Alison Lawrance, Naomi Pavri
Double Bass: Diane Clark

Photographer Hugh Carswell

A collaboration between Andersson Dance & Scottish Ensemble in co-production with Regionteatern Blekinge Kronoberg and Riksteatern.

Technical services in collaboration with Lumination of Sweden.

Made possible with support by: The Swedish Arts Council, City of Stockholm and Creative Scotland


“a revelation on several levels… Please, everyone, play it again. Soon.”

The Herald
“the string arrangement, based on Dmitry Sitkovetsky’s trio version of 1985, has a sonority and texture to which the choreography provides astute, visual commentary”

The Guardian
“The result is a musical feast… Magnificent music, the variety in the choreography and gentle humour, decidedly interesting dancers”

Peter Bohlin,
“an undeniably engaging performance with many moments of genuine alchemy”

Fjord Review
“…pushed way past conventional boundaries… after this cross-arts collaboration, in a welcome dynamic and exciting approach, we are promised further innovations in the future.”

“…it’s as if an irresistible burst of energy is making its way through the group of five dancers and eleven musicians…Örjan Andersson and the Scottish Ensemble create an open listening space where playful meets introspective and where relaxation feeds into intense concentration, sometimes insanely self-obsessed, sometimes lyrical…the ending is sublime…encapsulating the essentials of human relations, our ability to listen. Goldberg Variations is a generous dance concert that brings the human spirit to life.”

Svenska Dagbladet
“I find myself having to sit with one of those happy smiles through the show and I realise that it is precisely this type of visual setting that people like me, a dance geek, usually miss when I go to classical concerts. Örjan Andersson manages to blend the best of both worlds – this is like an animated Bach Concerto.”

Sveriges Radio
Photographer Hugh Carswell

*By permission of © Edition Wilhelm Hansen AS, Copenhagen / G Schimer Inc.